LEYM Chronology

Year Location Clerks Comments
1939 Cleveland   Great Lakes Regional Meeting organized
1940 Ann Arbor (Lane Hall)    
1941 Columbus    
1942 Pittsburgh   “Fourth Annual Great Lakes Regional Conference,  New and United Meetings”
1943 (no record found)    
1944 Cleveland    
1945 (no record found)    
1946 (no record found)    
1947 Patterson Lake, MI (Ann Arbor-Detroit)    
1948 Camp Wise (Cleveland-Oberlin)    
1949 Delaware (Columbus)    
1950 Camp Lutherlyn (Pittsburgh)    
1951 Green Pastures (Ann Arbor-Detroit)    
1952 Hiram House Camp (Cleveland) Winthrop Leeds FWCC–Oxford, England; Sheldon and Lucy Clark, Dick McCoy, Dorothy Kinsey, Ruth Hyde
1953 Columbus    
1954 Camp Lutherlyn (Pittsburgh)    
1955 Green Pastures (Ann Arbor-Detroit) Martin Cobin FWCC Statement of  “Objectives and Organization of the Lake Erie Association” adopted
1956 Friends Boarding School, Barnesville Bill Bliss Sunday dinner cost 85¢
1957 Wilmington College Isabel Bliss  
1958 Friends Boarding School Bernard Gross FWCC–Bad Pyrmont, Germ.; Florence Shute, Bill Preis. Budget 1958-59: $475
1959 Wilmington College Dick Stow  
1960 Camp Mary Orton (N. Columbus) William Johnson  
1961 Friends Boarding School Howard Harris LEYM Bulletin started. Elise Boulding, first editor. FWCC–Kenya; Margaret Utterbeck, Winifred Crossman
1962 Wilmington and Waynesville (with Indiana YM) Bob Blood  
1963 Friends Boarding School Bob Blood Lake Erie Yearly Meeting formed within Lake Erie Association
1964 Wilmington College Howard McKinney FWCC–Ireland; Bill and Isabel Bliss. Pittsburgh joins LEYM. Delaware first new Monthly Meeting in LEYM
1965 Malone College, Canton, OH Howard McKinney Kent becomes MM. Oberlin joins LEYM. Cleveland joins both LEYM and Ohio (Cons.) YM
1966 Wilmington College Esther Ewald Adopted statement urging U.S. withdrawal from Vietnam
1967 Olney Friends School (Friends Boarding School) Esther Ewald LEYM affiliated with FGC. FWCC–Guilford; Rilma Buckman, Helen Healy
1968 Bluffton College Flora McKinney Approved minute opposing conscription
1969 Bluffton College Flora McKinney “Association” dropped from name. Ground broken for Friends School in Detroit’s permanent building
1970 Bluffton College Flora McKinney FWCC–Sweden; Flora and Howard McKinney, Bill Bliss
1971 Bluffton College Flora McKinney  
1972 Ann Arbor Rilma Buckman  
1973 Olney Friends School Rilma Buckman FWCC–Sydney, Australia; Paul Reagan, Dorothy Bower
1974 Hiram College Rilma Buckman Broadmead accepted as MM
1975 Hiram College Ralph Liske Procedures of LEYM adopted
1976 Hiram College Ralph Liske FWCC–Hamilton, Ontario
1977 Hiram College Ralph Liske  
1978 Hiram College Ralph Liske Membership passed 1000. Budget reached $4000.
1979 Hiram College Sam Prellwitz FWCC–Gwatt, Switzerland; Benton Meeks, Evelyn Culver
1980 Hiram College Sam Prellwitz  
1981 Olney Friends School Sam Prellwitz,
Claire Davis
1982 Defiance College Claire Davis,
Sam Prellwitz
FWCC–Kenya; Marybeth Neal, Joe Davis
1983 Olney Friends School Claire Davis,
Isabel Bliss
1984 Defiance College Isabel Bliss,
Claire Davis
1985 Olney Friends School Isabel Bliss,
Dick Taylor
FWCC–Mexico; Thomas Taylor
1986 Defiance College Dick Taylor,
Isabel Bliss
1987 Olney Friends School Dick Taylor,
Clémence Ravaçon-Mershon
1988 Bluffton College Clémence Ravaçon- Mershon,
Dick Taylor
FWCC–Tokyo; Jean Stuntz, Terry Landoll
1989 Olney Friends School Clémence Ravaçon-Mershon,
Marty Grundy
1990 Bluffton College Marty Grundy, Clémence Ravaçon-Mershon  
1991 Olney Friends School Marty Grundy,
Pat Campbell
FWCC World Conf. – Netherlands, Honduras, Kenya. Claire Davis, Patricia Thomas, John Musgrave, Clémence Ravaçon-Mershon, Dick Taylor
1992 Olney Friends School Pat Campbell,
Marty Grundy
1993 Bluffton College Pat Campbell,
Damon Hickey
1994 Bluffton College Damon Hickey,
Pat Campbell
FWCC–Albuquerque, NM; Rosemary Coffey, Joyce Balderston
1995 Bluffton College Damon Hickey,
John Howell
Adopted LEYM Policies and Procedures
1996 Bluffton College Damon Hickey,
John Howell
1997 Bluffton College John Howell,
Damon Hickey
FWCC–Birmingham, Eng.; R. Coffey (repl. Rosemary Lore), Merry Stanford
1998 Bluffton College John Howell,
Janet Smith
1999 Bluffton College Janet Smith,
John Howell
2000 Bluffton College Janet Smith,
Don Nagler
FWCC–Geneva Point, NH; Beth Joy Blackbird, Richard Lee. First Annual Records published in booklet form
2001 Bluffton College Don Nagler,
Janet Smith
Commemorated on the web in photos by Bill Hummon with Plenary Address by Marty Grundy: Some Thoughts on the Relationship between an Individual and the Meeting
2002 Bluffton College Don Nagler,
Sally Weaver Sommer
2003 Bluffton College Sally Weaver Sommer,
Don Nagler
2004 Bluffton College Sally Weaver Sommer,
Michael Fuson
FWCC–Auckland, NZ; Zig Dermer, Margaret Kanost
2005 Bluffton University Michael Fuson, Sally Weaver Sommer  
2006 Bluffton University Michael Fuson,
Shirley Bechill
2007 Bluffton University Shirley Bechill,
Michael Fuson
First Adult Young Friends Group. FWCC–Dublin, Ireland; Raelyn Joyce, Mike Hinshaw
2008 Bluffton University Shirley Bechill,
Merry Stanford
Holland accepted as MM
2009 Bluffton University Merry Stanford,
Shirley Bechill
Scholarships assist first-time attenders
2010 Bluffton University Merry Stanford,
Peggy Daub
Family attendance encouraged by meeting later in summer and no charge for young Friends (through age 18)
2011 Bluffton University Peggy Daub,
Merry Stanford
Presentations and entertainment offered from within LEYM


Give to LEYMDonate online or via check or other charitable instrument

Related Organizations